My Facebook Story

Posted: July 21, 2010 in social media
Tags: ,

My Facebook story begins in a dark basement lab on the U of C campus, I only think now how appropriate it was that I joined Facebook while I was a student with the Continuing Education department at the University of Calgary (even though it had been opened up to the public at large for quite some time).  I had certainly heard about Facebook, but no way was I joining.  Something in the back of my mind was telling me to stay far, far away.  Perhaps it was the part of me that knew that once I opened that door, there was no turning back.  One friend in particular from my Lister Hall days at the University of Alberta had been attempting to get me to sign up.  I wouldn’t budge.  At least, not until he posted some pictures I was in to Facebook.  At the time, you couldn’t see the content of the site unless you were a member.  He emailed me a link to the photos.  When I asked what they were his reply was ‘sign up.’

It ate at me that there was something about me on a network that I couldn’t see.  So I opened my account.  I was swallowed up in the awe of finding so many people I had lost track of.  It quickly became clear to me why Facebook was nicknamed ‘Crackbook.’  ‘Be careful when you sign up, this thing is addicting’ I warned anyone who hadn’t yet opened an account.

I’m guestimating here, but I think it’s been about three and a half years since I joined.  Facebook has become part of my own communications mix for keeping in touch with friends and family.  Through Facebook I plan and attend events with friends and family, share blog posts and other interesting or funny links, post music and photos of my own, even fundraise for cancer using my status.

Could I imagine a world without Facebook?  Sure I could, but it wouldn’t be nearly as fun or as easy and efficient to keep up with people.

In honour of passing their 500 million user mark, Facebook is asking people to share their Facebook story.  This was mine.  What’s yours?

Leave a Reply

