It’s time to put social media behind us

Posted: July 8, 2010 in social media
Tags: , , , ,

I’ve spent the last two years being dazzled by social media tools, social networks and platforms, and the people and companies that have been using them.  I’ve enjoyed reading about the various experiments and successful as well as not so successful stories that have come about as a result.

But there comes a time when the new kid on the block needs to be accepted no longer as the new kid, but as any other neighbour.  I’m feeling like my use of social tools will not grow so long as I’m still ‘dazzled’ by the POWER OF SOCIAL MEDIA.  I know it works.  I’ve seen it work.  Hell, I’ve had my own successes because of it.  By accepting social media as an equal part of my communication mix (not to be mistaken as the ONLY part in my communication mix), it will become second nature, and that’s really the place you should aim to be, where social media is second nature.  Because when it’s as natural as breathing, our attention is free to be spent elsewhere.

So social media, glad you’ve moved onto my block, but it seems you’re all settled in.  If you don’t mind, I’ll be moving onto life as usual… but with you as a part of it.

Comments
  1. John Tyler says:

    I remember a couple of years ago when it was said Twitter and Facebook are just “fads” that won’t last long. Quite the opposite, those tools have become mainstream, the norm for most people.

    It’s just like when our family finally bought our first microwave oven. The excitement and experimenting quickly cooking new foods, now, it’s hard to imagine ever living without it! It is something I have come to rely upon, without a thought that it’s there!

  2. Jen says:

    Wendy-lou Hoo! I clicked through to read this (and good post by the by) but what I’m compelled to say is that I LOVE the new look of your blog. Well done.

  3. Wendy Peters says:

    Well thank ya!

  4. Wendy Peters says:

    John, I grew up with a microwave… so on that point I can’t relate. But certainly my first cell phone purchase would be similar. I didn’t want one before I got one.. but jumped in one day and evolved my use of the phones with the technology and now I don’t want to imagine life without one.

  5. rbradshaw says:

    I agree. It’s here, it’s working, let’s move on!

Leave a Reply

