Facebook COULD improve the click through rate of your ads

Posted: February 20, 2010 in Online advertising
Tags: , ,

I don’t know how many times I’ve seen the “Dating App” Facebook ad show up on my profile.  I could get rid of I suppose by taking off my relationship status all together, but I actually believe that someday, sharing that information will actually serve up ads that I want to see.  It just so happens that that day is a lot farther in the future than I initially hoped.

Almost every time I see that ad, I click the little “x” beside it.  And Facebook asks me why I don’t like it, and I say because I’m not interested in it.  Nor would I be interested in seeing similar ads to it.  I wish Facebook would take that information and STOP SHOWING ME THE DATING APP AD.. and the ads like it.  They’re platform is smart enough to stop showing me Farm something or other updates from my connections or daily horoscope updates… it’s smart enough to do this too.  Maybe it’s a feature in the works, I hope it’s a feature in the works, because that would take online advertising to an entirely new level.  And that would be one more thing that Facebook advertising can do that Google Advertising cannot.

Imagine if your interactions with the ads, especially interactions like “stop showing me this ad because it’s not interesting” actually did just that.  I’m not suggesting that Facebook get rid of the ads, because honestly, if I were able to tell Facebook exactly what I wanted and didn’t want to see (no dating or weight loss ads… but travel deals, local pub specials, and concerts.. ABSOLUTELY) I’d be paying way more attention to them.  They would be increasing the likelihood of matching an ad with a relevant target by a lot.  By how much?  I have no idea.  I don’t think it’s something we can measure without testing it, but I’d bet advertisers would see their click through rates, which are currently really poor to only semi poor for Facebook ads, become fair at the very least.  Especially as more people discover that they can control the types of ads that are served up to them.

As a user, I would be elated with this kind of a feature.  But as an advertiser, if Facebook could tell me that they can serve up an ad to people who have already said they want to see that type of ad… well holy cann0lli… they’ve just at least doubled the quality of that click and the likelihood of a sale.  What other service could have a potential offering that’s this big?

Leave a Reply

