“Master Social Media… without leaving your desk!”

Posted: September 30, 2009 in social media
Tags: ,

Hello gimmick.  Yes, I mean you.  You are a recent headline from one of my email newsletter subscriptions.  And you’re trying to sell me something with a gimmick.  You got me to click through, to open that email.  Which is often the hardest part.  But what made me open it was the fact that you’re using a gimmick to sell social media training.  At it’s fundamental level in my definition of social media, it’s about transparency and value and relationships.  Aka – avoiding the gimmicks.

I applaud you for wanting to bring it to the masses, to show people the ‘do-it-yourself’ way to success and empowerment.  I think that you will probably be successful in driving leads for your courses as well, as gimmicky headlines do often work in email campaigns.  But you’ve struck a nerve with me, setting a precedent for gimmicks in the social media realm by using that as your sales tactic.   I don’t like gimmicks on a good day.  They’re not transparent.  They’re bait.  And again, yes, bait has its place in the world.  But not here.

I understand that you have targets to meet and people to show results to.  But don’t you see?  That’s the part that is changing.  For me, today, those don’t matter.  My ideas and targets and goals have changed.

So, to many, you may still work.  And while you still work you will continue to exist.  But for now, I’m going to try a different road.  One without gimmicks… and see where I end up.

Comments
  1. itsuccess says:

    This is so true. Gimmicks suck and especially when leveraging Social Media. I recommend reading Chris Brogan’s book “Trust Agents”

    Cheers

    Stuart Crawford
    Calgary, AB
    http://www.bulletproofIT.ca

  2. Wendy Peters says:

    Thanks for the comment, Stuart. I’m struggling with a lot of techniques ppl are using to ‘sell’ social media. Feels like the real intention behind it is getting lost.

    I’ve heard about Chris Brogan’s book. It’s definitely been on my list to read. I’ll check it out sooner rather than later.

Leave a Reply

