Oh no I Didn’t! (finger wag included)

Posted: August 19, 2009 in Is it really that simple?
Tags:

Oh yes I did. I did, I did, I did. It’s unthinkable. It’s ludicrous. This time I’ve gone too far. What did I do? I cut off my Internet at home.

Say what now? You heard me. Internet. BAM! Gone. Finito.

I’ve been all about creating efficiencies and alignment with the things in my life and with my activities lately. I recently turned my attention to my landline and thought ‘what is this still doing here?’. Hardly anyone phones me on it anymore… They all call my cell phone. Coincidentally my Internet came with my phone… I could have kept it. I know it works without actually having a phone. But I’m still in the midst of ‘FREE’ by Chris Anderson, at the time I had gotten to a part where he was talking about how cheap it was for him to work… He had a $250 netbook and free wifi in coffee shops. There are 5 or so coffee shops within about a 5 block radius from where I live. So I’m giving this a try.

I’m not completely cut off, I still have my email, Twitter and Facebook.. You know… The essentials via my iPhone.

But I also have something less. A little more time. Because now my Internet usage is that much more conscious. Monday night I spent 2 hours playing around with my guitars relatively uninterrupted. I can’t remember the last time I did that… My auto pilot would have checked my computer for something interesting happening online at least every 20 minutes before. But there’s always something interesting to find online… There’s only so much time for me and my guitars…

Today is day 3 of my ‘no internet’ experiment. If I go completely nuts, it will be back. But if I have my way, my time, my focus and my efficiency will all benefit.

Comments
  1. Rob Hulson says:

    I’m very interested with how this works out. I was contemplating something like this. Not sure I can do it yet, but I also see the need to cut out so much interwebbing.

  2. Angela MacIsaac says:

    A braver woman than I! I could not exist without home internet … but then again, starting Monday, I’m getting it on the cheap. 😀

  3. John Tyler says:

    That’s so awesome!! Especially with the increasing capabilities of our mobile devices- don’t need to pay for duplicate services!! Hopefully it works out for you 🙂

  4. […] May 6, 2010 by Wendy Peters Last summer I did a major technological/connectedness overhaul.  I condensed everything.  I got rid of my cable, I cut off my landline and with it went my internet.  What spurred such a decision?  The desire to find more efficiencies in my life.  You can read the details in “Oh No I Didn’t! (finger wag included).” […]

Leave a Reply

