What did you do before the internet?

Posted: August 7, 2009 in other
Tags: ,

Recently I’ve been taking a lot at just how much I use the internet.  How much more productive I am because of it, and how much less I’m accomplishing because of it.  These days, I do everything on the web, banking, keeping up with friends, research, reading, listening to music, watching videos, buying concert tickets… the list goes on much longer.  So, what did I do in the days before I had internet in my home?

  1. I tried to see the image in a Magic Eye.
  2. I had a dog, whom I spent time with and walked outside (note – she lives with my mom).
  3. I rented movies.
  4. I talked on the phone a whole lot more.
  5. I went to the mall more often.
  6. I had a library card and actually used it.
  7. I played the piano.
  8. I went to bed before 11 pm.
  9. I was amused by things like hypercolour shirts.
  10. I bought a lot of crap I didn’t need (I loved little gimmicks and trinkets).
  11. I bought CDs (although I’ve only stopped buying them in the last 2 years).
  12. I did more crafts.

Many of these things had to do with the age I was at as well, and how my lifestyle has change since then.  But I’m wondering, without so much time online, are there any of those things that I’d still be doing?  What did you do before the internet was a common household service?

Comments
  1. John says:

    I was still going thru school and college before the internet really became so mainstream- and I’m glad!

    Now that I’m working a full time job, I use the internet as my way of connecting with others, research, music and photography. If I had access to all this back then, I don’t know if I would have done so well in school.

    I remember hearing in the news how Facebook was taking over in college and grades were dropping.

    Though now, I have adapted the internet into my interests and goals, I think if we didn’t have the internet as it is today we would probably have even more time to explore and create!

  2. alpalmer says:

    Pre-internet I suspect my doings looked a lot like yours, as we’re almost of an age. I spent a lot of time at the library (especially the one downtown as it was much bigger than my local branch), lots more time reading. I also played more sports, spent more time outside, and read the newspaper every day.

    I would say that the internet has improved my life and made it more interesting: I’d never have gone to as many concerts, traveled and met people, nor had such an expansive worldview if it wasn’t for the internet. Even my book collection would be smaller because it was a lot harder to find the out of print books I was looking for when all I had were a few used bookshops. Now I can peruse abebooks.ca or various other sites. 🙂

    I probably spend too much time online though, and should seriously cut back a little.

Leave a Reply

