Laws of attraction – I think free, it finds me

Posted: August 4, 2009 in technology and the future
Tags: , ,

Have you ever had a song in your head, and then turned on the radio just to hear it playing?  Or thought about phoning a friend, and a few minutes later the phone rings and they’re on the other end?  How we can sometimes attract items, events and people to us never ceases to impress me.

Last week, I was blogging about a day when everything is free.  No sooner had I pushed publish, then a tweet from @shel caught my eye pointing me to FREE.  Yep, a whole book about free.  It’s by Chris Anderson, who also authors The Long Tail blog.  I investigated the blog a bit more, read up on the book and today I went out and purchased the book (the purchase came from the fact that there were geographical restrictions in place stopping me from reading it for free on http://www.scribd.com.  That didn’t impress me very much.  If the internet is truly a free place, there should be a way around that… but to Chris Anderson’s point of digital businesses operating for free, books are not completely digital based… therefore cannot be completely free to everyone).  I’ve only made it through the first two chapters, but it’s definitely an interesting read.  And so far, something that resonates with my own observations of where the web is going.  I think we are headed for free.

Anyway, it’s difficult to allow myself to fully explore this concept without reading more of the book, but I wanted to share my recent finding.  Check it out.  And if you’re looking for it in Chapters, you’ll find it in the Global Business section.  All books in Chapters are sorted by category and then alphabetically by author, that may seem obvious to some, but finding books in that store has become much quicker since a helpful staff member shared that tidbit with me.

Comments
  1. Dave McLean says:

    Wendy, there is a free way around geographical restrictions. It’s called Hot Spot Shield… but I think it only works to restrict the US and A restrictions.

  2. Wendy Peters says:

    those are usually the only ones I encounter. I didn’t know about this service. Thanks Dave!

Leave a Reply

