Should and shouldn’t vs. I don’t care anymore

Posted: July 17, 2009 in Uncategorized
Tags: , ,

I’m tired.  I’m tired of the same information about what I should and shouldn’t do to help grow my business using social media tools.  I’m tired of other people telling me what coding languages I should be learning if I want to grow my web design company.  I’m tired of people scoffing at each other for calling themselves or others experts, gurus, whatever.  I’m tired of the judgment calls, the negative ‘#fails’ that seem to come out at every turn these days and just complaining in general.

Yes, the internet gives us a voice.  Yes, it gives businesses good insight into what customers are saying about their brand and/or products.  Yes, it allows for more connections and relationship building.  Yes, there is tremendous potential.  Yes, it’s a ton of work to get up and running.  Yes, it is possible to screw things up pretty easily and yes that screw up can easily spread if you’re a larger brand.  But really, where is the use in pointing out yet another#fail unless it’s accompanied with a lesson?  It’s so easy to point out flaws and grumble out our distaste at others actions.  But to what benefit?  How does that get any of us anywhere?

This may very well just be my mindset today.  But it seems that all of this chatter is continuing to be a whole lot of chatter.  Where’s the action?  The follow through?  The results?

I’ve listened and listened.  Now I’m tired.  I want to do, not talk about doing.  The beautiful thing about the internet?  I can DO just that.  I can choose seek out other doers, turn off the complainers (I do realize I am being one of them right now…) and make things happen.  Today, I choose to DO and to create…

What are you tired of?  What do you choose to do about it?

Comments
  1. j3r3my says:

    Good for you. I think this is an important lesson to learn. There’s a ton of people out there who can sell you on all their skills and knowledge but in the end if they can’t deliver it’s all garbage anyway.

    A true leader is someone who can’t take the time to brag because they’re too busy getting work done…

  2. Wendy Peters says:

    Thanks Jeremy. It is an important lesson… now it’s just figuring out how to go about that delivery piece.

  3. John says:

    I’d have agree and disagree. It is very important to be able to take action and get things done- no matter the complaints.

    But at the same time the complaints are a form of feedback that can allow you to adjust your plan of action. I wouldn’t say shut them right out, but take charge of them and they no longer become complaints but suggestions.

  4. This article more than anything displays good thought leadership and the confidence and clarity to communicate it.

    Props.

  5. John says:

    Yes- well written!!

  6. Wendy Peters says:

    John – I think that observing criticisms and complaints and praise (any feedback really) is a helpful exercise in any improvement cycle. This wasn’t so much about ignoring them, but more about taking them and changing what we have control to change. For instance, I may have a complaint about customer service at a local pub. I cannot control what the pub will do with the complaint, but I can choose to not go back to that pub, thereby taking action to eliminate the source of my complaint.

    Roger – thanks. Another step towards being all I can be.

  7. John says:

    ya that makes sense 🙂

    btw- how would I change my avatar image that shows up on the posts- the sad face really isn’t my style?

Leave a Reply

