Blog reading as my morning paper

Posted: December 23, 2008 in other

I’ve entitled this blog Outing my Inner Geek because that’s exactly what I’ve been doing over the last 3 years.  I knew the geek in me was in there somewhere.  But slowly I’ve been more public about it.  Yesterday, I think my parents caught onto it to.

I’m home for the holidays and without a care in the world.  My stepdad was teasing me about how long I slept in.  “I wasn’t sleeping in,” I said.  “I was reading my blogs.  They’re like my morning paper.”  Well after he had a good chuckle and we both realized I was serious, it hit me how true that statement is.

There are over 72 blogs at this point that I peruse on a daily basis looking for golden nuggets of information.  Some are human interest stories, some are marketing and search engine optimization stories, some are political, some are just not politically correct.  But my aggregation of blogs to read is like having a customized newspaper delivered to my computer every morning.  I use Feedly to read everything, which over time analyzes what I read the most of and delivers content that matches on the front page.

I have never been one to read the morning paper, or even buy a paper unless there was a concert review I wanted in it.  I don’t know if it’s just the majority of stories that don’t interest me on a day to day basis, or having to flip through the whole paper (they’re rather big and cumbersome in my opinion) that have kept me from taking them in on a more regular basis.  At any rate, my blogs are definitely my morning paper.  Easy to sort through, I can go back and search for articles from past editions and I don’t have to worry about leaving it on the bus.

Comments
  1. I like the personal nature of your story. There is a gulf between us newspaper readers and you folks who want it on RSS. I’ve never gotten used to reading anything on the computer – in fact, I’ve never gotten used to spending so much time on it. I like walks, books, time for reflection – and, yes, my newspaper in the morning. I read a few blogs that where the writers “think” about things. This might be one of them.

Leave a Reply

