Blogging from the bus

Posted: December 15, 2008 in technology and the future
Tags: ,

I started working in downtown Calgary about 8 months ago. I was used to free parking. Now parking was no longer free. I was used to going against the grain of traffic and an easy commute. Now I faces parking lots all over the city. My 2nd month in I decided I would avoid all of the hassle and just take the bus. The stop was near my house and that same bus stopped right outside the doors to my building. It couldn’t have worked out any better… Except that a few days in I discovered how much I hated taking the bus. But I had spent $75 on a bus pass and I was bound and determined to get my money’s worth.

That was in the time before my iPhone. I would try reading but it put me to sleep. Weird people would try and strike up a conversation with me when I would try so hard to just stare out the window so I wouldn’t have to talk to anyone.

Today, I have a newfound appreciation for the bus. It’s -30 something outside and a great day to be dropped off outside my building. And the wordpress iphone app is bringing you this blogpost from 4th street and McKnight right now. Thank you mr. Bus driver for the ride… And thank you apple and wordpress for providing me with an enjoyable way to pass the time.

Comments
  1. Roger says:

    Very nice story of public transit. I wish more people that worked in the downtown core took the bus and train.

    I am looking forward to more iphone meets public transit posts 🙂

Leave a Reply

